What is Website Conversion, and how you can improve it
When you are in the phase of gauging your online business's performance, website conversion is one of the most critical factors that determine if it is growing or not. If your conversion rate is not up to the mark after implementing digital marketing techniques and running various campaigns, your strategies will have to be reviewed.
Since website conversion is one of the most important factors, we have decided to explain all about website conversion and the proven strategies that you can implement to improve this critical metric.
What is a Good Website Conversion Rate?
Site conversion rate is defined as the ratio of all the visitors that arrive at a particular website and take some desired action as set by your website. That action could be purchasing a product, sharing a blog post to social media accounts, clicking a specific button, signing up for a newsletter, and more.
The percentage of all those visitors that complete your set pre-determined action is defined as a conversion rate.
Conversion Rate = Desired Actions / Visits * 100
So if on your online store 4000 people are visiting and among them 400 make a purchase, the conversion rate will be 400/4000*100 = 10%
Conversion types vary among businesses. For instance, for an eCommerce website, a conversion will be the number of sales, and to some companies, generating leads will be counted as a conversion.
Average Website Conversion Rate by Industry
One should understand that conversion rate is contextual - so you can not compare two different businesses on the same parameters. Some variables affect conversion rates, such as product type, cost or average order value, traffic source, device from which traffic is coming, location, and much more. Also, there is no such thing as a good conversion rate because it varies from business to business. But we have shared some data related to different industries to give you some useful insights.
An average website conversion rate of
- eCommerce websites are 2.86%
- lead generation websites are 13%
- affiliate websites are 26%
Note: The above data has been acquired from the official website of Invespcro. They have gathered this data by using Invesp internal metrics.
How to Improve Website Conversion Rate?
Since many sites have low conversion rates say 0.1 to 0.2%, it is vital to learn some strategies to improve this metric.
So without further ado, let's get to know each of them.
Remove unnecessary fields from your form
You must have come across several long online forms that you never bothered to fill. It is the typical behavior of an online visitor. People do not like to go through the long process of filling out big forms that ask many irrelevant questions.
It would be best if you strive to make a short, relevant form so that your sign-up ratio increases; otherwise, no one will be even thinking about filling that form for you. Ask relevant information that you can use effectively to build your marketing strategies. The idea is to stay relevant and not to make a very long or very short form.
Give Social Proof
People are hesitant to buy new products or services, of which reviews are scarce. Most people look out for the reviews of a particular product before they decide to purchase it. So you can tackle this issue by placing some testimonials and reviews from existing customers.
If there are a couple of brands using your products and services, you can place their logos onto your website's main page. It will help customers put trust in your brand.
Incorporate Live Chat Support within Website
Any landing page you design, make sure that your USP should be communicated. And to make this happen, you must have a better understanding of your buyer persona. Your copy must tell benefits to your customers, address their concerns and pain points. Your customer should be able to visualize that how your service or product can solve their problem. Only then will you be able to boost your website conversion.
Since more and more people are now turning towards using mobile phones and other handheld gadgets for online shopping or even consuming online content, you should make your website mobile responsive. You can check your mobile responsiveness by using the free Google Mobile friendly test tool.
Get rid of Distractions
Stay relevant with your website content. You do not want to confuse your visitor by providing too much information on various disorganized pages. Your landing pages should be designed intuitively. Include benefits in the form of headings and subheadings to grab customer's attention. Learn to know the art of using proper CTAs (Call to action). Add multimedia to engage your prospects. And to make sure that your design is uncluttered and messy, you should first make a website prototype, and then based on that prototype, a website should be developed.
Software for UX/UI Design
Adopt a structured approach of making website design prototypes before actual website development as it will increase your website conversion rate. To make prototypes, you can use Wondershare Mockitt.
Mockitt is an amazing tool that is developed by Wondershare. It has several unique features that we have laid down below.
Pre-installed Templates – if you are running a short of time and want a pre-designed template, you can access these templates within Mockitt's library. All you need to do is to tweak that pre-designed template as per your requirements.
Drag and Drop feature – you will not have to learn any programming language to use Mockitt as it works on the "drag/drop" feature. All you need to do is drag a relevant element from the library and drop it onto your working screen.
Internal Linking – one can make interactive prototypes by linking all of the designed screens with each other.
Widgets/Icons – Mockitt has a vast library of widgets and icons, and you can use any of them as per your tailored requirements. You can also create your custom library of Widgets.
Collaboration feature – you can have all of your project team on board and collaborate with them regarding your project. Also, you can share your design for feedbacks and approval.